New Mayor and City Councilmen Sworn Into Office

 New Mayor and City Councilmen Sworn Into Office

Surrounded by a standing-room-only crowd in the City Hall Council Chambers, Mayor Troy Brumbalow and Councilmen Jason Evans and Chad Crane were sworn into office during a ceremony on Tuesday, Jan. 2, 2018 at 6:30 p.m.

Municipal Court Judge John Richard Neville administered the oath of office to all three elected officials as their families stood by their sides during their respective swearing-in ceremonies. Neville reminded the crowd that the oath of office is one of the most important parts of our nation’s democratic process, dating all the way back to the founding of the country.

Brumbalow and Evans were voted into office during the Nov. 7, 2017 municipal election, while Crane was victorious during a run-off election on Dec. 5, 2017 after he and his opponent tied during the Nov. 7 election. The terms of Brumbalow, Evans and Crane are all four years, and they join previously elected council members Lewis Ledbetter, Linda Ledbetter and Christopher Light.

Before adjoining the meeting (his first official act as mayor), Brumbalow thanked all of his supporters as well as all of the elected officials who came before him for their role in “making the City of Cumming the great place it is today.” He added that he is excited to begin this new chapter in the City’s history.

Congratulations to Mayor Brumbalow, Councilman Evans and Councilman Crane! Click here for more photos from the swearing-in ceremony.