City of Cumming Youth Council

The Youth Council is comprised of nine students – seven from Forsyth Central High School and two from the Alliance Academy for Innovation, the two high schools located within the Cumming City Limits. Students from both schools can apply to participate in the City’s Youth Council. All applications are reviewed by a committee, which selects the nine Youth Council members.

Much like the City of Cumming’s elected body, the Youth Council meets each month and members elect the leadership roles of Mayor, Mayor Protem, City Administrator, and Clerk.

The Mission Statement of the City of Cumming Youth Council is “to provide local youth with the experience of working with city government while obtaining a sense of civic responsibility, as well as the opportunity to develop and demonstrate leadership skills.”

The purpose of the Youth Council is to act as an advisory board to the Cumming City Council by providing insight into today’s youth. Youth Council members provide ideas for ways to better connect with young people and to serve the community as a whole.

Meetings of the Youth Council are held the 1st Tuesday of each month at 5 p.m. in Council Chambers (Third Floor of City Hall, 100 Main Street). Click here for Meeting Agendas and Minutes.

2019-2020 Youth Council Members

The nine students selected for the inaugural Youth Council are (left to right): Top Row – Jake Gant, Mayor (FCHS senior); Caleb McWhorter, Mayor Protem (Alliance sophomore); Alana Murray, City Administrator (Alliance junior); Middle Row – Grace Gant, Clerk (FCHS senior); Eva Sell (FCHS senior); Jake Dutton (FCHS junior); Bottom Row – Riley Brumbalow (FCHS sophomore); Mary Beth Lowe (FCHS sophomore); and Zach Furbush (FCHS sophomore).