Planning & Zoning Department

The Cumming Department of Planning & Zoning works with all partners in the city, in order to provide valuable land use planning services, which fosters quality growth and creates a beautiful city, to be enjoyed by its citizens. Our department manages all long and short-range planning efforts within the city. As directed by the Mayor and Council and Administration, we administer policy and technical changes to the Cumming Comprehensive Plan, as well as our Code or Ordinances. This work includes conditional use and home occupation permits, rezonings, variances, as well as text and map amendments to our Zoning Ordinance.

We oversee all land use activities within the city, including all commercial and residential construction. We review and approve all development plans, issue land disturbance and construction permits, inspect trade work in all phases, and issue Certificates of Occupancy. We are responsible for approving and issuing all city alcohol, business, massage/spa and alternative tobacco licenses and permits. We conduct Code Enforcement activities to insure compliance with city laws and ordinances.

Our department requires the personnel, vehicles and equipment to carry out its day-to-day operational functions. We utilize IT hardware and software programs to control the licensing and permitting systems necessary to conduct our daily work tasks. Our staff requires continuing education training, in order to maintain necessary certifications and stay abreast of changing laws and regulations, to complete our job duties. When necessary, we utilize legal counsel and professional consultants, to assist staff with completion of projects which require independent and objective analysis.

Submit Plans
Inspections
Erosion
Rezoning
City of Cumming Boundary Map
GA Dept of Community Affairs

Planning & Zoning Board Information
Planning & Zoning Meeting Agenda
Planning & Zoning Minutes

Planning & Zoning Contacts

Department Director

Scott Morgan
s.morgan@cityofcumming.net
Phone: 770-781-2024
Fax: 770-781-2029

Administrative Assistant

Barbara Rockmore
brockmore@cityofcumming.net
Phone: 770-781-2024
Fax: 770-781-2029

Code Enforcement Officer

Lenny Mancinelli
lmancinelli@cityofcumming.net
Phone: 770-781-2024
Fax: 770-781-3481

Building Inspector

Jason Simmons
jsimmons@cityofcumming.net
Phone: 770-781-2024
Fax: 770-781-2029

Chief Building Official

Everett Thompson
e.thompson@cityofcumming.net
Phone: 770-781-2024
Fax: 770-781-2029

Electrical Inspector

Stanley Pirkle
s.pirkle@cityofcumming.net
Phone: 770-781-2024
Fax: 770-781-2029

Building Inspector

Allen Cape
acape@cityofcumming.net
Phone: 770-781-2024
Fax: 770-781-2029